Interview with Sherry Gloag

30 Sep

Sherry Gloag

The Brat

5/5 Stars

Hello everyone! I am so happy to introduce the author you have been reading about all week, Sherry Gloag! Her debut novel, The Brat, is absolutely fantastic! If you want to read the review or find out why Sherry has made my exclusive auto-purchase list, smack those links! Without further ado, here’s Sherry Gloag!

Book Questions

1. What inspired you to write The Brat?

I’d stalled on the final book of a 3 book miniseries when Gina turned up out of the blue and bugged me to tell her story.  Determined to finish the wip I ignored her but she wasn’t having any of it and finally when she kept waking me up at night, I caved.

2. What is your favorite scene in the book?

This is a truly difficult question to answer because Gina was totally justified in her persistence and there are several scenes I enjoy reading again.  But the one that comes to mind is Gina’s ‘Ah-ha’ moment.  Without giving to much away I can’t be more detailed than that.

3. Your characters really jumped off the page and felt completely real. Did you model Gina and Ben after anyone you know? 

Neither Gina nor Ben was modelled from people I know.  They had their own agenda and they made sure I didn’t stray from it.  And if I did, I was soon put right, if not by them, then by my wonderful editor, Cindy.

4. I loved the depth of the plot and the multiple layers in Gina’s characters. Did you plan this from the beginning or did it develop during the writing process?

Sorry, no I didn’t plan it.  When writing my miniseries when I reached the end of one chapter I pretty well knew how the next would pan out, but with The Brat it was an exploration from start to finish.

5. Why did you choose to open The Brat with a funeral?

I wanted the reader to get a clear picture of my heroine, so I put both Ben and Gina in a position where he could watch her and ‘tell’ the reader what he ‘saw’ rather than have me tell them. 

6. What was one of the most surprising things you learned while writing The Brat?

The strength and depth of the relationship that developed between me and all the characters in the book was a mega surprise. They will always remain very special ‘people’ to me.

Personal Questions:

7. The Brat is such an amazing story! I have to ask… Will there be a sequel?

No, I can’t see myself writing a sequel to The Brat.

8. Are you working on a new novel? If so, can you tell us a little bit about it?

I have returned to the first book, Duty Calls, in my miniseries. Trudi, the heroine is another strong woman who has to deal with the cards life has dealt her.  By the time she meets, Rafe, the hero again, she’s changed beyond recognition. She has lessons to learn and Rafe has to deal with his heritage.  

9. Congratulations on publishing your first novel! What made you decide to become an author?

LOL, I can’t say I decided to become an author, ‘it’ was always there in the background. My writings while at school were confiscated!  Later my efforts came winging back with comments attached.  Then in 2006 after I’d begun writing in earnest again, I came across an amazing online crit group. I owe them a lot.  

10. Where do you get most of your writing done? At home?

Yes, I write at home.

11. Do you have any writing quirks?

I don’t think so :-)  I try to write something every day, be it my wip, a review, or a crit.  And then there’s my blog and website, too.

12. How did you overcome writer’s block (if you had any)?

I came across a quote online that I believe is attributed to Nora Roberts. “You can fix a bad page, you can’t fix a blank one.” When I get stuck I open a new page, title it Freewriting and just go.  Sometimes it’s good enough to slot into the wip, other times it’s a load of rubbish and best shelved.

13. What do you like to do when you are not writing?

I enjoy reading, gardening, walking and craftwork.

14. What advice do you have for aspiring authors in the process of writing their first book?

Believe in yourself, because if you don’t, why should anyone else?  And keep writing.  

Fun Questions:

15. Which is hotter: A Greek Man or an English Man?

ROFL  I can’t repeat my initial thought when I read this question, but since my Greeks live near the Mediterranean wouldn’t that make them hotter?  

16. What is your favorite ice cream flavor?

I am so boring, it’s vanilla because you can add so many other things to it.

17. Which would you rather shop for: Winter clothes or Summer clothes?

Summer clothes because I love the warmth and freedom summer brings.

18. What movie are you dying to see right now?

Not much of a movie fan, so am going to have to pass on this one.

19. What make-up product could you not live without?

Mousturiser.  Does that count as make-up?

20. Would you rather have a professional chef or a professional trainer?

Professional trainer any time! 
Thank you Sherry for your time! The Brat was a sweet treat for us and I wish you much success!

 

17 Responses to “Interview with Sherry Gloag”

  1. Krystal/Village September 30, 2010 at 8:26 AM #

    loved this interview, she sounds so fun :) The opening of the book sounds intriguing!

    • firepages September 30, 2010 at 12:13 PM #

      Thank you Krystal for the comment. The Brat is definitely intriguing!

      • Sherry September 30, 2010 at 1:39 PM #

        Krystal/Village, Thanks for your kind words and that you enjoyed the interview. Zee certainly asked some great questions.

  2. Yadira A. September 30, 2010 at 10:00 AM #

    Fun interview:) Duty Calls sounds really good, I’ll have to keep my eye out for it when it comes out.

    Fun Q’s:
    15. Which is hotter: A Greek Man or an English Man?
    I’d have to say Greek, but I love an English accent. Can’t there be a combination of both?

    16. What is your favorite ice cream flavor?
    Pralines and Cream

    17. Which would you rather shop for: Winter clothes or Summer clothes?
    I was born in the Summer, but I’m in love with Winter. I’m a big fan of boots, scarves, and jackets.

    18. What movie are you dying to see right now?
    There’s not a movie that I’m dying to see right now, but I did just watch Legend of The Guardian: Owls of Ga’hoole in 3D. Those owls are so cute especially the babies! I admit I cried a little:)

    19. What make-up product could you not live without?
    I agree with Sherry. If moisturizer counts then that’s what I would pick.

    20. Would you rather have a professional chef or a professional trainer?
    Professional Trainer

    • firepages September 30, 2010 at 12:16 PM #

      Okay, I’m going to answer the fun questions too!

      15. Definitely a Greek man for me!
      16. Chocolate Almond
      17. Winter clothes. I definitely have a better Fall/Winter wardrobe!
      18. The Twilight Saga: Eclipse on DVD
      19. Concealer!
      20. Professional Chef. I have no problems working out. I just have trouble staying away from french fries! It doesn’t help that I’m a terrible cook.

      • Sherry September 30, 2010 at 1:42 PM #

        Yadira A, I have the same belief in Duty Calls that I have in The Brat. Yes it came winging back earlier this year, but it will find a home, I just don’t know when yet. :-)
        I loved your answers to Zee’s fun questions.

      • Sherry September 30, 2010 at 1:43 PM #

        LOL firepages, I love ‘concealer’ I wish I’d thought of that!! :-)
        Thanks for your great questions today. They were fun. :-)

      • Krystal/Village October 1, 2010 at 10:19 AM #

        aahah fun answers. i’d go with a greek guy too :)

  3. Nikki September 30, 2010 at 12:25 PM #

    Congratulations! I have given you the Versatile Blogger Award at: http://starbuckled.blogspot.com

    • firepages September 30, 2010 at 3:32 PM #

      OMG! Thank you so much Nikki! I am so incredibly excited! I will definitely accept this fantastic award and pass it on!

      • Sherry September 30, 2010 at 3:58 PM #

        YOu absolutely deserve it Zee, congratulations. I’m so pleased for you. :-0

  4. Mikan September 30, 2010 at 11:30 PM #

    Congratulations Zee! You deserve it. Congratulations to Sherry as well for publishing your first book.

    The book sounds great. I’ll put in on my to read list for when I have more time.

    To the fun questions:
    15. I have to agree with Yadira, I want a combination of both. Love those English accent.
    16. Cookie and cream
    17. Summer clothes. I was born in a tropical country, so I adore warm weather.
    18. I really need to find time to watch the twilight series.
    19. Lip gloss and moisturizer.
    20. Professional chef for me as well. Vegan dishes are so limited, since I don’t really know how to cook.

  5. Petty Witter October 1, 2010 at 8:33 AM #

    Hopping by, I thought I’d say hello. Nice to have met you (and Sherry, there were some great questions and answers), I’ve enjoyed my visit.

  6. bet365 October 2, 2010 at 10:22 AM #

    Good day!This was a really marvelous post!
    I come from milan, I was luck to search your blog in bing
    Also I obtain much in your website really thank your very much i will come every day

  7. Sherry October 3, 2010 at 6:30 AM #

    Thanks for coming by and enjoyed your visits, Petty. I hope you keep coming back, because Zee’s site is amazing.

  8. Anaiz Martinez October 3, 2010 at 4:51 PM #

    Ha, oh yeah Vanilla ice cream! Same here Zee, I have a better fall/winter wardrobe than summer. Fun interview!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Brat Giveaway Winner & Blog Hop « Fire Pages - October 1, 2010

    [...] Edit Me Interview with Sherry Gloag [...]

Leave a Reply

