Interview with Jianne Carlo

8 Oct

Carnal in Cannes by Jianne Carlo

I would like to introduce you to Jianne Carlo, author of Carnal in Cannes. Jianne Carlo has eight books published between Loose-Id and Siren Publishing. It’s quite easy to see how passion inspired Carlo’s novels as she has lived in some of the most exotic areas of the world, which include but are not limited to Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, Barbados, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic, Tortola, and Guyana. Thanks Jianne for being her today!

1. What inspired you to write Carnal in Cannes?
My mother and I took our first solo mom/daughter trip in 2007, and we visited Monaco, Nice, and Cannes, just to name a few places. A few months later while caring for a terminally ill friend, I began writing my first book, Manacled in Monaco. Writing kept me sane at a time when everything was crumbling. Manacled became my dream escape, and the minute Harrison Indiana Ford made his appearance in that story -, I knew I’d have to write his tale. I fell in love with the cynical Texan cowboy, his worn boots, and the fact that he boasted, “I do the dirty with my Stetson on.” That line alone inspired me to write Carnal in Cannes.

2. What is your favorite scene? Why?
I’m torn between the one where Harry explains to Martine what part of his body he’s referring to when he speaks of St. Pete, and the one where Harry teaches Martine how to use the iPhone, and she calls him, “Imbecile. They’re both humorous, and show the beginning of trust and affection developing between Martine and Harry.

3. Who is your favorite and least favorite character? Why?
Delora, the totally evil stepmother. Any woman who can sleep with both a father and his son has no redeeming values in my book (pun intended).

4. What is the most interesting thing you learned while writing Carnal in Cannes?
That an illiterate person, if he/she is clever, can function without anyone realizing he/she can’t read for a very long time. That almost 80% of the population of Haiti is illiterate.

5. Are you working on a new book? If so, can you tell us a little about it?
I’m working on The Viking’s Virgin Bride, my first historical.

Here’s the summary:
Set amidst the ever-changing alliances and battles during King Cnut’s campaign to secure his rule over Denmark, England, Norway, and Sweden, The Viking’s Virgin Bride is a sensual tale of love and intrigue.

Torsten, Jarl of Stjórardalr and known as the Northern Bear, glimpses Ainslin of Durham, a recent widow with two sons, and immediately covets her for his wife. He outmaneuvers his rival, Earl Sigrid, and receives the king’s blessing to marry her. Shocked to discover her a virgin on their wedding night, he demands an explanation.

Ainslin’s first husband, Hadrain, two-score years her senior, was unable to perform, and the marriage went unconsummated. Earl Sigrid’s land adjoined Hadrain’s and during one of the Earl’s frequent visits, the Earl raped her maid, Greta. Hadrain’s sons had died in battle, and they feared the Earl would petition King Cnut for Ainslin’s hand after Hadrain passes. When Greta conceived, Hadrain sent Ainslin, Greta, and his steward and wife to his Wales holdings, then announced in court that Ainslin was with child.

To win over his wife, Torsten has her sons brought to Stjórardalr only to discover that they traveled with Earl Sigrid on his ship. Does Sigrid suspect the twins are his? By right of law, he can claim both the boys and Ainslin. Who will believe Ainslin a virgin when she’s claimed motherhood for three years? Will Torsten cast Ainslin and the boys aside?

6. If you could add any one thing to your writing space, what would it be?
An extra pair of hands J. If only. I haven’t met a genre I don’t like. About the only areas I haven’t explored yet are science fiction and futuristic. However, the other day, I woke up with a definite sci/fi tale in mind. I wrote the first chapter and a synopsis.

7. Do you have any writing quirks?
I know this is heresy, but I rarely plan a manuscript. I always write the first two chapters, one from his point of view, and the other from hers, and then I know where the story is going. I need to get to know the characters before I can get a grip on the plot.

8. Would you rather have a house on the ocean or in the country?
Ocean in a heartbeat. I grew up on the island of Trinidad, and from our house, we could see the whole city and the bay down to where the sky met the sea. I love the briny smell of the sea. For me any body of moving water, a lake, a river, a beach, is somehow soul soothing.

9. What is one gift you hope to receive this holiday season?
Good health for all of my family and friends. My son was involved in a serious accident in September and had three surgeries in eleven days. Thank goodness, he’ll fully recover in time. I’ll never take being healthy for granted anymore.

10. If you had to be on one reality show, what would it be?
I’d love to do Dancing with the Stars. Not that I’d have any hope of ever surviving the first round, but it would be fun to try! J

Leave a Reply

