5K Under Way!

5 Nov

I didn’t write a single thing down the first four days of November. So naturally, I was starting to freak out. How in the world was I going to write 50,000 words, when I haven’t even written one word down yet! And then it totally didn’t help that I got sick with a sinus cold on Thursday. Fever and all. So today, when I realized that yes, I am feeling a little bit better, I grabbed my laptop (which I always keep by my feet – how nerdy is that!), thought of a two sentence storyline and just started typing away. And now, four hours later, I am four chapters deep and five thousand words closer to my goal.

I know! I couldn’t believe it when I saw my word count on Scrivener. I would have screamed and done a happy dance if my head was not still swimming from all of that wretched nose blowing.┬áBecause I am a super organized person, I thought I would have already prepared a general and detailed outline of my story, but that is so not the case. Spontaneity has totally taken over, something that doesn’t often happen in my too structured life. But I must say that I like it.

I am definitely enjoying this change of pace, of writing down whatever comes to mind. Quite different from doing book reviews. Since I am on a creative roll today, I’m going to drink some orange juice, relax, and see where my writing takes me next.

Fun tidbit: I noticed that I say the word “just” all the time. Gosh, I was even annoying myself after a while. Thank goodness for the find button so I can zap out all those needless words that don’t do crap for my story!

Do you have a favorite word that you love to repeat in your writing?

3 Responses to “5K Under Way!”

  1. Lisa Alexander-Griffin November 5, 2011 at 2:36 PM #

    Keep at it, Zee! That’s an awesome word count, and I have faith in you. Don’t worry about repetitious words while doing Nano. You can do search and find and weed them out later. We all have our pets. lol. But you’re on a roll!! Keep going with it.

    • Zee November 5, 2011 at 2:47 PM #

      Thanks so much for the encouragement Lisa. When I was writing, I was thinking about how in the world you multi-published authors do it. Haha. But I am having so much fun. Can’t wait to see how far I get this weekend.

      • Lisa Alexander-Griffin November 5, 2011 at 9:12 PM #

        What’s your word count now, Zee? Hope you’re still rolling along. :) As far as being multi-published, It’s never easy for me. haha! Each story is like childbirth or pulling teeth.

Leave a Reply

