Unbelievable by Lori Foster – Fantasy

14 Jul

Unbelievable by Lori Foster

Hello everyone. I have some interesting thoughts to get off my chest so I will be doing a two (or three) part post about MEN! I mean, what would our beloved romance books be without them?!

Lori Foster’s Unbelievable contains two separate stories: Fantasy and Tantalizing. I have been sent to training for work all week, where I am stuck in a cold hotel conference room… listening to a man talk about accounting… for eight hours a day. Of course I brought my iPod Touch and read Fantasy all day today. (Like you’ve never read at work before! :)) In Fantasy, Shay purchases Sebastian at a charity auction and quickly passes him on to her younger sister, Brandi, calling him a birthday gift. Besides Sebastian, the bid comes with a five day romantic getaway at a cabin. Brandi and Sebastian end up discovering more about themselves, each other, and love.

Fantasy is really only memorable because of Sebastian, who is a strong, kind, considerate, loving and patient man. He is so protective of Brandi and considerate of her intimacy issues during their cabin trip. She takes the entire book to get over her issues, which sometimes has me yelling, “Would you just get over it and have sex with him already!” But it’s Sebastian’s understanding and good heart that makes this a slow seductive read. Overall, this book is just okay. I would only read Fantasy if I was trying to get over a breakup or guy drama because you will definitely walk away from this book reminded that there are good men out there in the world and to not ever give up on love. Other than that, I’d pass on Fantasy. I’ll let you know what I think about Tantalizing later this week.

If romance novels are based even on a grain of truth, is it silly to want our real life men to be more romantic like the men in our novels? My man is a practical romantic. He’s not lovey dovey at all, but makes sure that I am fed, helps with house chores, and makes me feel safe everyday. How often are does your significant other exceed the men in our pages? And if your significant other is clueless in the romance department, do you think a woman should take the lead and create her own romantic destiny?

2 Responses to “Unbelievable by Lori Foster – Fantasy”

  1. Anaiz July 14, 2010 at 10:24 AM #

    I think everyone is romantic in their own way. Finding someone who is your type of romantic is the key. I think it’s fine to want our dudes to be more like the book men, I think that’s what makes these books so popular (daydreaming anyone?). But it should never be to the point where it gets in the way of your real relationships, enjoy your man the way he is and his type of romantic, it’s unique and you won’t find it anywhere else.

    • firepages July 14, 2010 at 6:05 PM #

      I absolutely agree. I called my man last night and asked him these questions to get a “man’s opinion,” and I am going to post his response tonight when I review the second half of the Unbelievable. Lol. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

