Hidden Pleasures by Brenda Jackson

16 Aug

When Galen Steele steals Brittany Thrasher’s cab in New York, he never though he’d see her again.  Imagine his surprise when he runs into her at an auction in Phoenix. Consumed with thoughts of taking her to bed, he concocts a plan to outbid her for her dead mother’s house and then make her an indecent proposal: spend the week with him and then she can have the house for free! This playboy never expected Brittany to take him up on his offer or for his plan to backfire and fall in love!

It is no surprise that I am a huge fan of Brenda Jackson’s novels. I have devoured her previous Steele titles, which focused on the Charlotte Steele family, and couldn’t wait to be introduced to the Phoenix Steele family. While I thought the story was excellent and the characters were a breath of fresh air, I must admit that while this novel was good, it was not Jackson’s best Steele title.

What makes Jackson’s novels unique is how the characters are stubborn and resist falling in love. In Hidden Pleasures, Brittany fell in love with Galen way too easily and didn’t even get mad at him when she found out he lied to her. I was waiting for an argument, a lecture, or anything that would reprimand him for his actions, but nothing came.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and it is definitely worth reading. Read the excerpt below and watch how Galen steals Brittany’s cab from her. Funny stuff! And let me know: How would you react if a handsome man stole a cab away from you?

READ EXCERPT

eHarlequin Paperback | eHarlequin eBook | Amazon Kindle

7 Responses to “Hidden Pleasures by Brenda Jackson”

  1. Maddy August 16, 2010 at 10:37 AM #

    Stealing a cab from me?? Depends on what kind of day I’m having. If it’s a bad day, I’m afraid it wouldn’t be a pretty sight! But I love that books can transport you to a differnt place and time. It’s almost like an out of body experience!

    • firepages August 16, 2010 at 11:22 AM #

      I would be fuming if a guy stole a cab from me. It’s like, “Geez, get some manners!” I agree with you. I don’t have the money to travel the world, so I allow my books to take me on unexpected adventures!

  2. Maddy August 16, 2010 at 10:38 AM #

    Oh! I forgot to mention! I like the pretty new layout! So much brighter and happy 🙂

    • firepages August 16, 2010 at 11:18 AM #

      Thank you so much Maddy! Getting away from the pink was like pulling candy away from a child, but this new theme is definitely growing on me.

  3. Erotic Horizon August 16, 2010 at 1:05 PM #

    How would you react if a handsome man stole a cab away from you?

    I am a vengenceful sort of person and I have a dastardly personnality – so anyone wanting to steal my cab, would rue the day they were born….

    I am that bad….LOL

    I love Jackson, but I find I don’t read enough of her books….

    I need to address that….

    P.S. – Loving the change, let me know if you need help or suggestions….

    E.h>

  4. Anaiz August 16, 2010 at 6:09 PM #

    I admit I have no experience with cabs as I live in the suburbs, but I think I would be miffed, especially if it was raining! 🙂

    • firepages August 16, 2010 at 9:31 PM #

      I’ve only taken a cab when vacationing in Las Vegas. It is quite scary because the cab drivers drive so fast. Oh, I never thought about raining weather! I’d definitely be mad if it were raining. It’s interesting that no one cared that the man stealing the cab is sexy.

Leave a Reply

