Carmella Jackson: Manifest Vampire by Michael C. Greer

19 Aug

Absolute Chaos Giveaway Winner: Erotic Horizon! Please shoot me an e-mail at FirePagesEditor@yahoo.com and let me know which gift card you would like as well as the e-mail address you want me to send your prize to. Congrats!

Review: It has been a while since I have read a YA novel, but I couldn’t turn down the chance to read Michael C. Greer’s Carmella Jackson: Manifest Vampire. I found Greer’s novel to be a most refreshing read. Meet Carmella Jackson, a normal beach loving teenager spending her last summer days soaking up the sun with her friends before she heads off to college. Life was good… until Carmella gets completely blindsided one fateful night and bitten in her bedroom by a mysterious attacker.

As her body begins to change, Carmella realizes that she is transforming into a vampire, and balancing her normal life with her new nocturnal state will be more of a challenge than she thought. And when a top secret organization charges her the task of taking down the beast that attacked her, she is going to need support from everyone to survive.

I really appreciated how simple Greer kept his story. There’s no blockbuster antics or over the top drama that is often found in popular vampire novels. Greer’s point of view is unique and all his own. I enjoyed following Carmella on her journey to self-discovery, learning the everyday tendencies of her family and friends, and watching her figure out where her new future will lead her. While this title could have been proofread and edited a little more, if you are a fan of YA vampire novels, I’m sure that you will enjoy Carmella Jackson: Manifest Vampire. I look forward to reading the second title in Greer’s series!

My favorite part of Manifest Vampire is the relationship between Carmella and her boyfriend. It is going to be interesting to see whether Carmella decides to turn her boyfriend into a vampire. Comment: If you were a vampire, what celebrity crush would you not mind taking a bite of? 🙂

 

11 Responses to “Carmella Jackson: Manifest Vampire by Michael C. Greer”

  1. Stephanie August 20, 2010 at 6:57 AM #

    Hugh Jackman Nom nom!

    • firepages August 20, 2010 at 12:34 PM #

      Oh, Hugh is a handsome looking man! Good pick Stephanie!

  2. Emidy August 20, 2010 at 10:00 AM #

    Hey, thanks so much for visiting my blog earlier! I appreciate it.

    Enjoy your weekend!

    Emidy
    from Une Parole

    • firepages August 20, 2010 at 12:33 PM #

      Oh you’re welcome. You have a great weekend too!

  3. Erotic Horizon August 20, 2010 at 11:25 AM #

    Love your thoughts on this .. I dont read YA myself, but one of my kidlet do..

    Is it quite graffic or have too much sexuality?.. I have to ask as I really have issues with some of the books labelled as YA…

    But the kid loves them and he’s reading – so I take the breaks I can get…

    P.S. I am over the moon about the win – thank you so much…..

    E.H>

    • firepages August 20, 2010 at 12:31 PM #

      No, this book does not describe scenes in graphic greusome detail and there is no sex in this book, not even a hint of sex. I would definitely call this a “good, clean book.”

    • Jen D. August 20, 2010 at 3:43 PM #

      Congrats E.H.!

  4. Anaiz August 20, 2010 at 2:33 PM #

    I love YA. Especially anything paranormal, I will check this out! I would take a bite out of….Johnny Depp. Yea! 🙂

  5. Jen D. August 20, 2010 at 3:47 PM #

    For sure, without a doubt I’d nibble on Joe Manganiello aka Alcide Herveaux on True Blood. *sigh*

  6. Heather Rosdol August 20, 2010 at 9:10 PM #

    Nice review. Wow, she’d have to make a lot of changes. School would have to be night school. She’d have to find somewhere dark to sleep. Who does she feed off of, how does she not eat her boyfriend. I’d definitely want to read this one (she says again after her twentieth blog visit of the day) My reading list is full, especially with sequels. As who I’d like to bite? Gerard Butler. He’s just a couple of years younger than me, tall, got that accent, blue eyes, strong jaw, yum. My husband doesn’t read so he’ll never see this. Heather Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog Hop! « Fire Pages - September 10, 2010

    […] Carmella Jackson: Manifest vampire by Michael C. Greer […]

Leave a Reply

