Up In Smoke: Five Tips for Book Fanatics on a Budget!

30 Aug

With Barnes & Noble putting itself up for sale, Borders’ steadily decreasing stock, and articles questioning whether ebooks are worth the investment, I felt compelled to dedicate this week to giving you the straight facts about ebooks and ebook devices.  If you own an ebook device, please feel free to add to my articles and give us all your expertise. If you are thinking about buying an ebook device, please stay tuned and add any questions you may have to the comment section!

While Brett Arends’ Are E-Books Worth the Money? article points out that ebook device sales are “booming,” he also calls out Eat Pray Love for being more expensive to purchase at Amazon as an ebook versus the paperback version at Borders (with a coupon). And because he wouldn’t dare leave us with a bad perception of ebooks, he offers us “Six Money Tips for Pennywise Book Lovers.”

Sorry Brett… while I found your tips interesting, I can tell that they were from a financial perspective (I can relate as I am an accountant), but not very useful from a book lover perspective.

Here are my Five Tips for Book Fanatics on a Budget!

1.  Ebooks are cheapest when they are first released!

Case and point: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Release date: August 24, 2010

Bookstore Hardcover list price $17.99 + tax!

Amazon Kindle ebook price $8.03 (no tax)

Just for you Brett: Eat Pray Love first released in 02/16/2006 at $24.95, the Kindle version released almost a year later (02/01/2007) for $12.99 (an $11.96 + tax savings), and the paperback version was released on 06/29/2010 for $8.80 on Amazon. The ebook is the cheaper option depending on when you purchased it! Movie goers might see your point of view, but book lovers would definitely take my side. 🙂

2.  Casual readers can purchase ebook device apps for free!

Don’t want to pay for a handheld ebook device, but still want cheap ebook prices? Barnes & Noble Nook and Amazon Kindle have a free app that you can download to your PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, Blackberry, and Android device. Sony also has a Reader Store (much like the iTunes store) where you can purchase and read ebooks on your PC or Mac. This saves you from buying an ebook device and gives you three major outlets for comparing ebook prices!

3.  Savvy Readers Sample!

I am a huge try-before-you-buy fan. You can read sample chapters at Barnes & Noble and Amazon Kindle as well as eHarlequin. Let’s pick on one of my favorite authors: Brenda Jackson. You can read a sample of her Star of His Heart novel as well as comparison shop (proving Tip #2) through your ebook device of choice at:

|  Barnes & Noble $3.89 | Amazon Kindle $3.89 | eHarlequin $4.49 |

4.  Choose an ebook device based on where you shop!

This may sound like common sense but it is easy for people to get caught up in Amazon Kindle’s popularity. If you spend all your money at Barnes & Noble, a Nook should be your drug of choice. Obsessed with Amazon Kindle, it’s a smart idea to invest in a Kindle. Love eHarlequin, Samhain Publishing, and other self-published authors and independent publishing companies who provide ebooks in the form of PDF’s? The Sony Reader is the best choice for you. I think I’ve made my point.

5.  Read Books for Free!

Yeah, I said it and I’ll say it again… read books for free! Try Harlequin has 16 great books you can download for free. eHarlequin has 100+ books on their website that you can read for free! You can also download any classic for free at Project Gutenberg. That should keep you busy for a while without a penny coming out of your pocket.

Check out my Try Harlequin Reviews:

Crime Scene at Cardwell Ranch by B.J. Daniels

Kiss Me Deadly by Michele Hauf

Slow Hands by Leslie Kelly

Irresistible Forces by Brenda Jackson

Thanks for reading and have a great day! Comment: What tip did you find most helpful? Will you buy an ebook device? Why or why not?

20 Responses to “Up In Smoke: Five Tips for Book Fanatics on a Budget!”

  1. Anaiz August 30, 2010 at 5:21 PM #

    I read that article! I can’t say I’ve ever considered buying an ebook device, I love holding books and putting them on my bookshelf. I might download a free app though, nowadays ebooks are given away as often as physical books.

    • firepages August 30, 2010 at 9:21 PM #

      Hey Anaiz! I love the smell of a fresh paperback in my hands too, but I’ve been cut off by my boyfriend. After my book pile took over his side of the closet, he put his foot down. Lol! As you already know, I bought a Sony eReader and I absolutely love it! I still buy paperbacks every now and then, but I have really been taking advantage of the lower ebook prices. I think it’s a great idea for book lovers to have a combination of all the free ebook device apps on their computer, phone, or whatever to take advantage of cheap ebook prices as well as have a physical library. It’s nice to have many book buying options. 🙂

  2. Stephanie August 31, 2010 at 5:54 AM #

    I have often found e-books to fall in price after the first week, second week, etc. of release. I bought the latest Diana Gabaldon at $17 and watched over the next few weeks as it fell to $9. Most stores would refund that difference but Amazon never even responded to my request. Please note, that if you want a refund you have to manually request it on Amazon and the response always sounds as if they are doing you an enormous favor! http://fangswandsandfairydust.com

    • firepages August 31, 2010 at 6:34 PM #

      I can’t believe Amazon acted that way. What dirty rats! Thanks for letting us all know. Hopefully that doesn’t happen again to you!

  3. Maddy August 31, 2010 at 9:48 AM #

    I was one of the few that didn’t want to succumb to the e-device craze, but after a trip to the local B&N, I can see what all the fuss is about! It’s expensive to buy a book nowadays, especially one you’re not sure is a “keeper”. If I ever decide to make the switch, I will keep these tips in mind 🙂

    • firepages August 31, 2010 at 6:32 PM #

      Thanks Maddy! I live near an outlet mall so I got to put my grubby hands on the Sony eReader, and was immediately hooked to ebook devices. Books are super expensive. That’s why I’m always on the look out for great deals!

  4. Heather Rosdol August 31, 2010 at 11:15 AM #

    Not until they stop making books. There’s nothing like holding a book in my hand. I can’t take my laptop to the beach and e-book technology will start changing as fast as computers so I’ll keep having to download newer versions. A book is so much simpler and on Amazon, if you preorder a book, it’s almost half price. No shipping if you join their club for 75$ a year which is well worth it to me. Book Depository is the same. It all boils down to, I love to hold the book in my hand and the way it looks on my library shelf.

    Heather

    • firepages August 31, 2010 at 6:24 PM #

      Hmmm, great tip about the Amazon club. I love the idea of free shipping. I also don’t usually pre-order books, so knowing that the price drops quite a bit is great to know.

  5. Pauline Baird Jones August 31, 2010 at 3:01 PM #

    Good tips! I also advise ereader shoppers to buy where they shop. I see a lot of people asking if they can load Nook books on their kindle. short answer: no. If they lack DRM, maybe. If you shop everywhere, then consider an iPad or iSomething,since they have apps for almost everything (where is Sony/Adobe Digital editions in the app craze? Apparently out to lunch!)

    • firepages August 31, 2010 at 6:15 PM #

      Yes, Sony got quite lazy when it came to designing an app for iTunes. Lol. I don’t know what’s up with them. They’ve been perpetually out to lunch. Lol!

  6. Brandi August 31, 2010 at 4:46 PM #

    I’m on the fence as to whether or not I’ll buy one. Right now it’s a price factor. I don’t read tons of books a year so purchasing them off amazon or swapping with friends is my way of choice. But, if they were cheaper I would definitely consider it!

    • firepages August 31, 2010 at 6:14 PM #

      I was on the fence for a while too. But I am so so so happy that I bought one. I did a lot of research on each one, but ultimately had to buy the one that best suited me, regardless of how popular it is. I understand the concern about the price. It is a little expensive to get started with one right now. But thankfully we have many options to choose from.

  7. Kristin August 31, 2010 at 8:39 PM #

    I must be old. I prefer to hold a book in my hand and turn the pages!

  8. Pauline Baird Jones August 31, 2010 at 10:48 PM #

    I have my keeper shelf, but recently, while reading a print book I was so frustrated. Finally figured out I was annoyed at having to hold it open AND turn the pages. LOL!

    I think Sony and Adobe are lame to miss out on the whole apps thing. It’s like, okay, where are you and what are you doing, because its not staying ahead of the market.

    What I really like about the iPad is that I can bring my various libraries together. I used to read on my phone, too, so I have my apps lined up on the iPad, except of course for sony, adobe digital editions and older mobipocket titles. APPS PLEASE! LOL!

    actually i wish they’d all go epub! that’s what it was designed to do. and the various stores would have a bigger potential market. I do not get the stars on only my thars attitude. lol

  9. Jen D. September 1, 2010 at 3:28 PM #

    I just pre-ordered the Kindle 3 and am looking forward to testing it out. I’ll never get rid of my library or stop purchasing ‘real’ books but, I like that it’ll make traveling a little easier. Lugging around 5 books in your carry on because you don’t want them damaged in your checked luggage becomes tedious after a while.

  10. IP Camera September 11, 2010 at 12:09 PM #

    A truly beneficial publish by you my good friend. We have bookmarked this web page and can are available back again following several days to verify for almost any new posts that you just make.

    • firepages September 13, 2010 at 7:25 AM #

      Thank you! I really appreciate that!

  11. SMI September 24, 2010 at 11:21 PM #

    the written content on this article is really one particular of the most beneficial substance that We have at any time arrive throughout. I adore your article, I will occur back again to examine for new posts.

  12. 關鍵字排名 October 3, 2010 at 9:07 AM #

    Simply, one of the best article l have come across on this precious subject. I quite agree with your suppositions and will eagerly look forward to your forthcoming updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Up In Smoke: Kindle vs. Nook « Fire Pages - August 31, 2010

    […] Review Policy Up In Smoke: Five Tips for Book Fanatics on a Budget! […]

Leave a Reply

