Interview with Lisa Alexander-Griffin

22 Sep

Lisa Alexander-Griffin

Shattered Illusions

5/5 Stars

Hello everyone! I am so excited to introduce you to Lisa Alexander-Griffin, author of Shattered Illusions. Welcome Lisa!

Now let’s take care of a few housekeeping items before we dive into the review. Most importantly, if you have not read my review of Shattered Illusions, stop everything and smack this link!

Now let’s get this interview going!

Book Questions:

1. What inspired you to write Shattered Illusions?

Avoid Writers Hell along with Pink Petal Books, held a contest for the Reunited Series. The prize. A book contract.  I had to decide what I considered to be the hardest scenario for past lovers to overcome and Shattered Illusions was born.

2. What is your favorite scene in the book?

Probably when Cage and Morgan meet for the first time in ten years. She’s one spunky female!

3. I love reading about a corrupt authority figure. Was it hard to put yourself into Sheriff Blakely’s role?

Lol. Not really. I love crawling into the bad guys head, pushing them to their limits.

4. Shattered Illusions gets quite creepy because the characters base their actions on their feelings of betrayal and jealousy. Did you create the characters first, or the emotions you wanted the characters to have in common?

The characters came first, and then the storyline which sets up their emotional reactions to events, past and present, along with the domino effect that lies and mistrust play in a person’s life.

5. How does writing Shattered Illusions, which is a shorter piece, compare to writing full length novels? Is it tougher to write mini-novels because you are molding a story into a confined space?

At first writing shorts was harder, but now I find them easier. I’ve learned to choose words carefully, write tighter sentences, making each one count to move the story forward.

6. What was the most surprising thing you learned while writing Shattered Illusions?

I think, that I actually like writing from the male POV better. Lol.

Personal Questions:

7. Are you working on a new book? If so, can you share a little bit about that with us?

I just finished another short based on a mall shooting at Christmastime. Hand of Fate is in the hands of my editor at Passion in Print as we speak and has a tentative release date of November, 2010.

Cover art is by Lex Valentine at Winterheartdesigns.com

Blurb:

Amidst the Christmas glitz and glitter, Karina Withers enters the mall. Unease prickles her spine. Seconds later, a gun blast echoes through the building. Shoppers rush for the exits, trampling Karina.

Detective Josh Deloroso responds quickly, dragging the beautiful woman to safety. Attraction sizzles between them. But he has a job to do first. The shooter must be stopped. Unfortunately, when the chaos ends, the real danger begins.

Dark truths unravel. Passions explode. Fate plays its hand.

Can their relationship weather the storm of deceit? Or will a photo in the shooter’s wallet end Josh and Karina’s chance for love?

8. Where do you get your best writing done? At home? A coffee shop?

At home, although it’s a trial with a twelve year old who loves mom’s attention, we do manage.

9. How do you go about generating new ideas for future books? Do you actively brainstorm? Listen to music? Watch movies?

I gather lots of ideas from happenings on the news, things that have happened to family and friends. My imagination and research.

10.  Do you have any hidden talents?

Not really. I love doing home improvements, love to quilt and garden. I also paint with acrylics and oils when I have time.

11.  What do you like to do when you are not writing?

I’m an outdoors person, so in summer I garden and work in the yard, play with my daughter and grandchildren. Or we go fishing. In the winter I love to read and quilt.

Fun Questions:

12.  Which is hotter: a cowboy or a policeman?

Definitely a cowboy.

13.  What gift would you rather receive: a personal assistant or a massage pass for a year?

Personal assistant. Lol.

14.  Which do you prefer: Fall or Summer?

Summer. I hate cold weather and when fall arrives, winter is just around the corner.

15.  Sugar or Spice?

Spice.

16.  Which Sex and the City character are you most like?

Miranda Hobbs. Seems she’s the most level headed of the bunch. Lol.

Thank you so much for having me, and for reviewing Shattered Illusions. This was great fun!

You can find me on the web at:

www.lisaalexandergriffin.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/profile.php?id=1402843806

Myspace: http://www.myspace.com/DestinysChoice8

Twitter: http://twitter.com/LisaAGriffin

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3088741.Lisa_Alexander_Griffin

9 Responses to “Interview with Lisa Alexander-Griffin”

  1. Lisa Alexander-Griffin September 22, 2010 at 9:52 PM #

    Zee, thanks for the wonderful interview and for being such a warm hostess. It was fun! 🙂

  2. Kristin September 23, 2010 at 1:29 AM #

    Totally a cowboy!!

  3. Krystal/Village September 23, 2010 at 4:23 AM #

    i love your interview questions!

  4. Yadira A. September 23, 2010 at 11:06 AM #

    That was a fun interview to read:)

    Fun Questions:
    Which is hotter: a cowboy or a policeman?
    I’m with Lisa on that one… definitely a cowboy!

    What gift would you rather receive: a personal assistant or a massage pass for a year?
    Well I should say a personal assistant but my body says take the massage pass:)

    Which do you prefer: Fall or Summer?
    Fall because I love the the change in colors and the crisp air… plus I start to really get into the Holiday spirit.

    Sugar or Spice?
    Sugar – I like sweets!

    Which Sex and the City character are you most like?
    I think I’m more like Carrie, but I would love to be a little more like Samantha.

    • Lisa Alexander-Griffin September 23, 2010 at 1:51 PM #

      Yadira A.-Love your answers. They made me smile. Thanks for joining in. 🙂 And yeah, cowboys make me melt. lol.

      Anaiz-pumpkin spice latte sounds wonderful.

      Kristal and Kristin-thanks for taking the time to read and join in on the fun. 🙂

  5. Anaiz September 23, 2010 at 1:20 PM #

    Love the Sex and the City question. I love fall and spice. Pumpkin Spice Latte 😀 Fun interview!

  6. Janice Seagraves September 24, 2010 at 11:30 PM #

    Hi Lisa, great interview.

    Janice~

  7. weighty September 26, 2010 at 6:43 PM #

    gonna send this to my mom

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Double Trouble Giveaway & Blog Hop « Fire Pages - September 23, 2010

    […] Edit Me Interview with Lisa Alexander-Griffin […]

Leave a Reply

