Interview with Tonya Ramagos

7 Oct

Tonya Ramagos

Forty-Eight Hour Burn

5/5 Stars

“Hello everyone! I would like to introduce you to Tonya Ramagos, author of Forty-Eight Hour Burn. I think we all got a quick glance at how Tonya really turns up the heat during yesterday’s review, and now we are going to get inside her head and see what makes her mind work! Thank you for everything Tonya!!!”

Book Questions:
1. What inspired you to write Forty-Eight Hour Burn?

Playing the ‘what if’ game. I asked myself, “What if I took my favorite characteristics in alpha male heroes and put them all together?” I love firefighters. I love cowboys. Make them super dominate, a little cocky, stir in some sensitivity and I love them even more. Gavin and Randy are the end result of that concoction. Forty-Eight Hour Burn turned out to be my hottest book to date. The only one of my titles that hit the Sextreme rating at SirenBookstrand and wears it proudly. LOL

2. What is your favorite scene in the book?
I really love the beginning. I think Georgia standing before the bonfire knowing what she’s unleashed and anticipating every aspect is a steamy hook. Then we get our first glimpse of Gavin and Randy and…well, I’ll let you read that part.

3. This book is smoking hot from start to finish. What was your strategy for keeping up the heat while continuously delivering fresh love scenes?

It’s hard not to keep up the heat with men like Gavin and Randy! And when a man knows his way around a woman’s body the way they do, keeping the love scenes fresh turned out to be breeze.

As for strategy, I’m not sure I had one. I took some time before I started writing to get to know all three main characters. Who is Georgia? What is it she truly wants? Who are Gavin and Randy? What makes them really tick? When I started writing I really got the feeling that the characters were writing the stories for me. I merely did the typing.

4. I thought one fireman was sexy, but two firemen… Was it difficult to develop two leading male characters?

Not at all. Though Gavin and Randy share a common desire and love for Georgia, they are both very different men. Their personalities, mannerisms and backgrounds make them strong lead characters who could have stood perfectly well in a single hero story, but work deliciously together in Forty-Eight Hour Burn.

5. Our leading lady, Georgia Cooper, is one provocative siren. Did you intend for her to be this way, or did the character take over during the writing process?

Georgia definitely took over. I intended her to be submissive, but wanted her strong enough to give the men a bit of defiance and keep those fires burning. She surpassed what I wanted out of her and turned out to be so much more.

Personal Questions:
6. Are you working on a new novel? If so, can you tell us a little about it?

I’m currently working on book 3 to my Sunset Cowboy series, tentatively titled Taryn’s Handy Cowboys. Since it’s so new, I can’t really tell you much. You can certainly expect to find a couple more alpha male cowboys and a feisty heroine though.

I recently finished book 7 to my Heroes of Silver Springs series, titled Taken by Surprise. Readers familiar with the series will recognize the super sexy DEA Agent Michael Cosmos and erotic romance writer Rhonda Ramsey from previous books in the series. And if you’re not familiar with the Heroes of Silver Springs, allow me to recommend it. LOL Here’s the official blurb for Taken by Surprise:

Rhonda Ramsey’s plans for her future didn’t include a man. Then she met temptation in a set of exotic eyes and a six foot package of pure sex appeal. Unable to resist, she lets him into her life only to watch him walk away months later. She’s furious with herself for allowing her desires to control her head. But when a drug lord takes her hostage, depending on the man who tempts her soul might be her only chance to survive.

DEA Agent Michael Cosmos has done a lot of tough things in his career. Walking away from Rhonda topped the list. He did it to keep her safe. He failed. Now she’s at the mercy of a drug lord out for revenge. Michael will put his career and his life on the line to get her back in his arms. But will it be enough to hold on forever?

7. Where is your favorite spot to write?
Outside, either on my swing in my front yard or in the lounge chair on my screened back deck. As a matter of fact, I’m sitting in my swing on a lovely fall day as I’m answering these questions.

8. When writing for long period of time, what is your go to energy booster?

It depends on what time of day it is. Coffee is my morning to early afternoon go juice. Around one o’clock I swap to water or soda. At night I might go for a glass or two of red wine or a beer. Chocolate is always a good booster, too.

9. What do you like to do when you are not writing? Any talents?

Hmm, lately I’ve become quite the handy woman around my house. All my non-writing time has been spent painting, plastering, sanding, hanging, and fixing…not in that order. When I’m not turning my house into my future show place, I’m hanging with my 10 year old son doing whatever he cons me into. I never quite know what that will be. The other night he had me standing on my head on my sofa! There’s pics on my Facebook of that one. LOL

Fun Questions:
10. Which would you rather have: A sexy fireman or A fireman pole for working out?

A sexy fireman. I’ll let him show me how to use the fireman pole.
11. Would you ever consider joining a secret society/ club/ sorority?

Good question! I have no idea! LOL With the right enticement I could probably be convinced to join either one.
12. Which would you rather do for 48 hours: Ski or Surf?
I’ve never done either, but since I can’t swim I better go for skiing.

13. Which is more alluring: A smile or A wink?
Definitely a smile. Winks seems too cocky to me most of the time, but a I-want-to-do-you-smile from a handsome face…oh, yeah.

14. Which color is sexier: Red or Black?
Black. Black pants, black T-shirt, black boots, black Stetson… Hmm, sounds like a Goth cowboy. LOL I might have to write him!

 

5 Responses to “Interview with Tonya Ramagos”

  1. Anaiz Martinez October 7, 2010 at 10:17 AM #

    Great interview gals! I’ve always wanted to learn how to surf (I am in California after all) and I agree with Tonya on black being sexier 😀

    • firepages October 7, 2010 at 12:09 PM #

      I think I’m more of a snowboard girl. And I definitely think black is sexier. 🙂

  2. amcatoir October 7, 2010 at 11:44 AM #

    I got the phrase “Goth cowboy” and lost all train of thought. I laughed so hard. I don’t think I’ve every seem a cowboy goth… Stetson and eyeliner? Could be interesting. I think some Googling may be necessary.

  3. Yadira A. October 7, 2010 at 3:55 PM #

    I’m definitely going to have to pick up a copy of this book after reading this interview! Goth Cowboy?… Ya that really has me thinking:)

    Fun Q’s:
    10. Which would you rather have: A sexy fireman or A fireman pole for working out?
    How about the fireman pole with the fireman watching. That might be fun;)
    
    11. Would you ever consider joining a secret society/ club/ sorority?
    Depends on what it’s for and then I probably would.

    12. Which would you rather do for 48 hours: Ski or Surf?
    I think I’d like to try surfing.

    13. Which is more alluring: A smile or A wink?
    I agree with Tonya… a wink does seem cocky.

    14. Which color is sexier: Red or Black?
    Black all the way! I love that color, it’s my favorite. I probably have way too much black in my clothing and my truck is black, but I don’t care… the color goes with everything:)

    yadkny@hotmail.com

  4. hmm...? October 12, 2010 at 9:47 PM #

    thanks

Leave a Reply

