Hands On by Christina Crooks

13 Oct

Christina Crooks

Hands On

5/5 Stars

“With as many sex scenes as I’ve read, it is hard to find novels that stay true to the emotions involved in having sex. Crooks accomplishes this in spades, and I definitely appreciate the extra effort.”

Hey ladies! Thank you so much for dropping by to check out Christina Crooks’ upcoming release, Hands On. She was so sweet to let me read her ARC, and I can’t wait to pass on all the good info to ya’ll. Remember to leave a comment to enter the Hands On Giveaway. The winner will receive an autographed hardcover of Christina’s previous release, Thrill of the Chase. Winner will be announced on Friday! Comment: Answer a fun question!

Hands On Blurb:

Want to make Fate laugh? Try telling her who’s in charge.

Talented, down-on-her-luck puppeteer Ginnie Anderson’s life seems destined to fall down around her ears. Much like the rented bungalow that’s just collapsed in a heavy rainstorm, endangering her precious collection of marionettes.

Her livelihood in need of protection and repair, she can’t refuse her landlord’s offer of temporary shelter in his magnificent home. Under his roof, though, she finds her hard-won grasp on her independence slipping—and herself falling into his arms.

The hallmark of Harry Barrett’s business success: he never makes the same mistake twice, particularly when it comes to manipulative women. So why is Ginnie, who pulls strings for a living, like a siren’s song in his blood? It’s best to put temptation as far out of reach as possible.

Yet when Ginnie’s past threatens to destroy the life she’s built for herself, Harry must decide which is more important. Holding tight to his sense of self preservation, or letting go to capture Ginnie’s fragile heart—before it breaks into a thousand pieces.

Hands On Review:

Hands On has to be the most down to earth, realistic romance novel I have read to date. I found her novel to be refreshing, and ultimately a much needed breath of fresh air in the romance genre. Here are the three reasons why you should read a copy of Hands On.

Real Characters:

Harry and Ginnie are two of the most relatable characters I have seen because Crooks doesn’t take the easy route in character development. I really like how she weaves deep rooted issues into Harry and Ginnie. Harry’s ex-fiancee publicly humiliated him with an unthinkable accusation, sending him into seclusion. His mistrust of women runs so deep that he fights off Ginnie’s charms at every turn. Crooks really kept us on our toes with Harry, as you will literally have to wait until the end to find out if he will ever get over his issues with women.

Ginnie has escaped her controlling ex-fiancee and is now making a fresh start in a new city as a puppeteer. Her self-esteem has taken a huge beating, and her puppeteer business is really struggling. All she wants is to do what she loves for a living, and a man isn’t in her plans. After her traumatic experience with her ex, Ginnie ironically develops control issues of her own as she is determined not to let anyone control her again. Like a well developed movie, Crooks succeeds in shaping each character into a true to life being.

Real Sex:

I loved how Crooks created very honest sex scenes between Harry and Ginnie. For example, when Harry removes his pants for the first time, Ginnie immediately recognizes that Harry “bore no resemblance” to her ex. While it is funny to read, it is even more tickling to know that thoughts like that really go through a woman’s mind. Crooks also shows us the real hesitation that comes along with a first sexual experience between our characters. Ginnie says, “Can I…touch you?” With as many sex scenes as I’ve read, it is hard to find novels that stay true to the emotions involved in having sex. Crooks accomplishes this in spades, and I definitely appreciate the extra effort.

Fat-Free:

With this novel coming out to approximately 115 pages, I quickly noticed that Crooks has a unique way of giving us all the delicious details without any extraneous fat. I was surprised at how I devoured this novel in a single sitting. The pacing is solid, and the transition between scenes is very smooth. Hands On is an easy read, and I found myself emotionally invested into the character’s happiness. I would absolutely recommend purchasing Hands On!

Fun Questions:

1. Would you rather eat chocolate cake or strawberry cheesecake?

Chocolate cake. With extra frosting.

2. Which Monoloply game piece would you be: thimble, car, shoe, hat, or dog?

I haven’t played Monopoly in forever, but I like dogs… so, that one I guess! 🙂

3. What would you rather drink: Water or Tea?

Peppermint tea, please.

4. What would you rather have: a new pair of shoes or a new purse?

I’d love some new black boots.

5. Who would you hire: a nail manicurist or a masseuse?

A masseuse, definitely. Mmmmm.

Thank you so much Christina for letting us take a sneak peak into your upcoming novel. I wish you much success and don’t be a stranger  – you are always welcome to visit us!

25 Responses to “Hands On by Christina Crooks”

  1. jemina October 13, 2010 at 6:02 AM #

    This book sounds so delicious, I’ll be looking it up, thanks dear as always for sharing:)), XOXO, J

  2. Judy Cox October 13, 2010 at 8:38 AM #

    Hands On looks like a very good read. Thanks for the excerpt. I enjoyed the post. I agree about the chocolate cake with extra chocolate frosting!!

  3. Tracie October 13, 2010 at 8:43 AM #

    “Hands On” sounds like a lovely read.

    Good luck and happy writing!

  4. Maddy October 13, 2010 at 8:56 AM #

    Sounds like a fun and fast read!! Great review Zee! And I have to agree with her taste in shoes 🙂 A pair of black boots is in order for me too!

  5. Gabrielle Jones October 13, 2010 at 9:42 AM #

    Sounds like an intriguing read! Can’t wait to try it out sometime!
    As for me yeah I gotta go with the masseuse to. Especially if he’s cute and has great hands! 🙂

  6. jennifer mathis October 13, 2010 at 9:45 AM #

    Hands On sounds great . mmm give me the cake too please

    meandi09@yahoo.com

  7. Lusty Reader October 13, 2010 at 9:49 AM #

    oh i like the sound of this book! and i love playing the shoe in monopoly, then i can make it run around and stomp on people’s spaces 😉

  8. Yadira A. October 13, 2010 at 10:01 AM #

    November 16th isn’t too far away now… almost a month, so it won’t be long before Hands On releases. Early CONGRATS on that accomplishment Christina!

    Another really great informative review, Zee!

    Fun Questions:
    1. Would you rather eat chocolate cake or strawberry cheesecake?
    Strawberry Cheesecake

    2. Which Monoloply game piece would you be: thimble, car, shoe, hat, or dog?
    The car… I’m always the car 🙂

    3. What would you rather drink: Water or Tea?
    Water. I’ve never really been much of a Tea person, but that just might be because I haven’t found the right one.

    4. What would you rather have: a new pair of shoes or a new purse?
    I have way too many pairs of boots, so I’d have to say a new purse.

    5. Who would you hire: a nail manicurist or a masseuse?
    I would love to say a masseuse, because that would be awesome, but duty calls when it comes to my nails. I have really weak nails, so I would have to go with nail manicurist.

    yadkny@hotmail.com

  9. amcatoir October 13, 2010 at 11:04 AM #

    This one sounds great! I really think I was sold at puppeteer. Do the puppets feature a lot in the plot, I hope so! As to your questions, can I have a new book instead of shoes or the purse! It would make me happier then even the manicure or the masseuse. I prefer water to tea any day. But the Chocolate cake, now that might even trump a new book, if it had rich chocolate icing chocolate pudding insides.

  10. Allison H. October 13, 2010 at 12:13 PM #

    Hi Christina and Zee! Fun questions, and sounds like a romance I would love to check out! As for my answers: (double, even triple!) chocolate cake (with extra frosting, chocolate chips etc etc); the car in monopoly, so I can drive as fast as possible! And I’ll take tea, with lots of milk and sugar too; And the shoes.. most of the time I don’t even carry a purse! It’ll be on my way to the masseuse. Thanks ladies:)

  11. Anaiz October 13, 2010 at 12:32 PM #

    Tell me why I am currently drinking peppermint tea? What a coincidence! I would get chocolate cake too…with vanilla ice cream. I’m drooling at the thought!

    Book sounds great, like always Zee your review is honest and informative 🙂

  12. Ragan J October 13, 2010 at 3:46 PM #

    I just discovered this one recently on Samhain. Can’t wait to get my hands on it!

    1. Would you rather eat chocolate cake or strawberry cheesecake?
    Answer: Chocolate!!
    2. Which Monopoly game piece would you be: thimble, car, shoe, hat, or dog?
    Answer: Always the car.
    3. What would you rather drink: Water or Tea?
    Answer: Cold water. I’m not a tea drinker at all.
    4. What would you rather have: a new pair of shoes or a new purse?
    Answer: Purse.
    5. Who would you hire: a nail manicurist or a masseuse?
    Answer: Nails manicurist. Hubby does an amazing job with the massages.

  13. Jen D. October 13, 2010 at 5:01 PM #

    Loved the review Zee. Definitely insterested in checking this out. Thanks for the rec.

    • firepages October 14, 2010 at 7:34 AM #

      Thanks so much Jen! I think this is definitely worth a good looking into! 🙂

  14. Kelly Thrash October 13, 2010 at 6:16 PM #

    The book sounds great. I can’t wait to check it out.

    1. Would you rather eat chocolate cake or strawberry cheesecake?

    I’m not a fan of chocolate so the cheesecake please 🙂

    2. Which Monoloply game piece would you be: thimble, car, shoe, hat, or dog?

    Isn’t there a man on a horse? I want that one 🙂

    3. What would you rather drink: Water or Tea?

    I’ll take water I don’t like tea either

    4. What would you rather have: a new pair of shoes or a new purse?

    shoes would be nice but I’d love a new giant purse

    5. Who would you hire: a nail manicurist or a masseuse?

    nail manicurist with french tips please

  15. Christina October 13, 2010 at 6:49 PM #

    Zee, deepest thanks for your thoughtful review. And I hope you’re rockin your exam today! 🙂

    Thanks everyone for your great comments. Jemina, Judy, Tracie, Maddy, Gabrielle, Jennifer, Lusty , Yadira, Amcatoir, Allison, Anaiz, and Jen: I really appreciate your thoughts and like hearing these Fun Question answers. 🙂 Amcatoir, to answer your question about whether the puppets feature a lot in the plot, I hope they’re in there just enough to be a heartwarming and different plot flavor.

    • firepages October 14, 2010 at 8:03 AM #

      No problem Christina! I really enjoyed Hands On and would absolutely recommend it to all my girlfriends! And to answer the fun questions myself… I would rather have chocolate cake, be the thimble in Monopoly, drink tea, buy a new pair of shoes, and get my nails done. Now that sounds like a productive day!

  16. joann downie October 13, 2010 at 7:06 PM #

    This book sounds really good!
    A fun question answer: I would be the Hat- as a Monopoly piece!

  17. Kristin October 13, 2010 at 10:34 PM #

    I kinda want chocolate cake now. HA!

  18. Kristin October 13, 2010 at 10:35 PM #

    p.s. It’s been years since I read a true romance novel…but this one is awfully tempting!

  19. Christina October 14, 2010 at 1:09 AM #

    Joann & Kelly – Thanks for your kind words. Hah Kelly, I’d prefer a man on a horse too, now that you mention it.:)

    Kristin, I’ve been craving chocolate cake all day!

  20. Krystal/Village October 14, 2010 at 12:27 PM #

    this one really does sound realistic, that would be nice!

  21. Anitra Lynn McLeod October 14, 2010 at 3:37 PM #

    No comment.

    🙂

    You said leave a comment . . . he he he he!

  22. sneakers isabel marant May 5, 2013 at 2:22 AM #

    Wait to purchase each individual individual clothe themselves in distinct retail store. If you are mostly of the items are often, explain to the mediocre ones head over to retail outlet the attire within the identical keep. They are going to unquestionably supply you with a price cut, in the event the all people your wedding day occasion agree to use a shop searching, like the star of the wedding, the distinction and also the bloom girls. The fee are going to be far less in case every body obtain gowns in one certain retail outlet. Perhaps you must take your funds into mind, and try your very best self to purchase the budget bridesmaid costume.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hands On Winner & Blog Hop « Fire Pages - October 15, 2010

    […] Edit Me Hands On by Christina Crooks […]

Leave a Reply

