Interview with Lisa Alexander-Griffin II

21 Oct

 Lisa Alexander-Griffin 

 Danielle’s Touch 

 5/5 Stars 

Hey everyone! I am so happy that Lisa is back for another interview! Not only will we get to talk to her a little more about the inner workings of Danielle’s Touch, but we will also get a sneak preview at Lisa’s upcoming title, Hand of Fate.

 

Book Questions:

1. What inspired you to write Danielle’s Touch?

Twelve plus years ago, during a dark period of my life, I turned to writing as a form of self therapy. Nothing is sacred or private at my house so journaling wasn’t an option. I have a twelve-year-old daughter, LOL. And, that’s the first time I’d ever picked up a pen, or tried my hand at writing. Along the way I discovered my love for creating characters, placing them in the most impossible scenarios, fashioning towns based in part on ones that I know or have visited—bringing the antagonist to life with the sole purpose of tormenting my beloved h/h, and in the end feeling the satisfaction of giving them a happily ever after. J Believe it or not, Danielle’s Touch was the first story I’d ever written.

2. What was your favorite scene in the novel?

I think in chapter two where Stuben at the pool hall bests Alex. Who doesn’t love to see a bad guy taken down a notch? Then there’s the one where he and Ethan have their confrontation in front of the hardware store, but then things escalate from there and…all those love scenes come to mind. Gosh…do I have to choose?

3. It was evident early on that there would be a huge fight between Danielle, her current love Ethan, and her horrible ex-husband Alex. How did you go about keeping up such a high level of anticipation throughout the book?

The next incident is always easy to concoct. I love getting into the antagonist’s head. Teehee. Alex was very easy to make believable. There are so many guys just like him in the world to draw from. Sad but true.

4. Once I started reading Danielle’s Touch, I couldn’t put it down because the characters are so unique and incredible. How do you go about creating such true to life characters?

Go deep… think how they would think, how they would react or respond in a given situation. How someone else would respond in turn to their actions, be it through fear or jealousy, love, lust or mistrust.

5. Alex Taylor is one crazy man! He makes Sheriff Blakely look sane. What inspired you to come up with such a demented personality?

Movies, television, books, etc.? That’s a compliment I think. J A little of all three, plus, hard learned, but, second hand experience with domestic violence. For that reason alone, this book is dear to my heart. Abuse has a domino effect, touching everyone in its path, from mothers and fathers, brothers and sisters, daughters and sons, to friends or even co-workers.

6. Did you ever consider an alternate ending where Alex got his way?

No, because too often in real life the abuser just walks away scot free, paying no consequences for his actions. So many times, people turn a blind eye to what’s happening. And, even though Danielle’s Touch is fiction, I wanted to show that women can take back their lives, regain a sense of self-worth, fall in love with REAL men who love them unconditionally, and without the abuse. J We all deserve to be safe.

7. I really enjoyed reading Danielle’s Touch from Danielle’s, Ethan’s and Alex’s point of view. How did this writing style differ from the male point of view you used in Shattered Illusions?

Which writing style do you like better? I really can’t say that I prefer one POV over the other. I guess it depends on the storyline and which character has the most to lose or gain that decides POV. At least for me it is. And although Danielle’s Touch needed to be shown from varying angles to connect the reader, I’ve discovered that I really enjoy delving into the male psyche.

Fun Questions:

8. Favorite vacation spot (whether you have been there or not)?

Never been, but I’ve love to go to Egypt, visit the pyramids. As far as a vacation spot I’ve visited…Florida, the beach and ocean waves are so soothing, the sun so bright and the sand so white. The temps deliciously warm.

9. Which store (or designer) would you love to win a shopping spree from?

Oh gosh, I’m not picky. LOL. Even a Wal-Mart shopping spree would be most welcome. J

10. What Halloween costume would you wear this year?

A Vampire. Dark and mysterious.

11. Which would you rather have: A custom closet or a custom kitchen?

Definitely a custom kitchen. Seems I’m always cooking, and my family is always hungry.

12. Which would you rather own: The perfect little black dress or the perfect black heels?

The perfect black heels, as I’m not much for dresses. But heels can be worn with numerous outfits. If nothing else, I’m practical.

Zee, I’ve so enjoyed the interview. You’re always such a warm and gracious hostess with lots of interesting questions! Before I go, I like to remind readers that I have a new release coming out with http://www.passioninprint.com in early December. Hand of Fate is a Christmas themed, contemporary, romantic suspense. If you like dark, on the edge of your seat, reads with a happily ever after ending, check it out. You won’t be disappointed!

Here’s the cover and a short blurb:

Blurb:

Amidst the Christmas glitz and glitter, Karina Withers enters the mall. Unease prickles her spine. Seconds later, a gun blast echoes through the building. Shoppers rush for the exits, trampling Karina.

Detective Josh Deloroso responds quickly, dragging the beautiful woman to safety. Attraction sizzles between them. But he has a job to do first. The shooter must be stopped. Unfortunately, when the chaos ends, the real danger begins.
Dark truths unravel. Passions explode. Fate plays its hand.

Can their relationship weather the storm of deceit? Or will a photo in the shooter’s wallet end Josh and Karina’s chance for love?

Connect with Lisa Alexander-Griffin:
| Website | Blog | Twitter | Goodreads |

| Facebook | MySpace |

Friend me! I love new friends, and enjoy hearing from readers!! J

7 Responses to “Interview with Lisa Alexander-Griffin II”

  1. Maddy October 21, 2010 at 8:39 AM #

    Great interview questions! A shopping Spree from Walmart sounds perfect! Though I would probably raid their electronic section 🙂

  2. Yadira A. October 21, 2010 at 11:35 AM #

    Hi Zee & Hi Lisa!
    Danielle’s Touch sounds like a really great read. For the first story you’ve ever written Lisa, I’m sure it’s a good one. Do you feel more comfortable with your writing now?

    Fun Q’s:
    8. Favorite vacation spot (whether you have been there or not)?
    I would love to go to Hawaii. I’m pretty sure I would love it there:)

    9. Which store (or designer) would you love to win a shopping spree from?
    I would love to win a shopping spree from Macy’s!

    10. What Halloween costume would you wear this year?
    Not wearing a costume unless you count my work clothes:)

    11. Which would you rather have: A custom closet or a custom kitchen?
    Custom closet in case I get that Macy’s shopping spree.

    12. Which would you rather own: The perfect little black dress or the perfect black heels?
    I’m not much into dresses either, so I would go with the perfect black heels.

    yadkny@hotmail.com

  3. Krystal/Village October 21, 2010 at 12:53 PM #

    i totally admire her inspiration, so interesting to read. i could never be a writer, so don’t have the gift of creating characters coherently, haha!

  4. Lisa Alexander-Griffin October 21, 2010 at 4:13 PM #

    Maddy, I’m with you on the Wal-Mart shopping spree. lol. Had to go there today to pick up meds. Got my eye on a Sony e-reader that I’d love as a Christmas gift.

    Yadira- Yes, Danielle’s Touch is the first story I’d ever written, but I learned so much along the way, and as I learned I applied that knowledge to the story. Three other releases came before DT, and Hand of Fate comes out in late November or early December. I’m really proud of the way it turned out. 🙂

    Krystal-don’t say never. lol. I thought that for a long time too, but you never know. 🙂

    Thanks to all of you for stopping by and leaving a comment. It’s much appreciated.

  5. Pauline Baird Jones October 22, 2010 at 8:30 AM #

    Hi, Lisa and Zee! Great review and fun interview! The book sounds fascinating! Mega congrats!

  6. Lisa Alexander-Griffin October 22, 2010 at 10:35 AM #

    Thanks, Pauline! 🙂

  7. Jianne Carlo October 22, 2010 at 4:41 PM #

    Lovely interview on both parts Zee and Lisa. Great questions and terrific answers. BTW Lisa, I live in South Florida, and I grew up in the Caribbean…beaches do it for me.

Leave a Reply

