Apples and Regret and Wasted Time by Cornelia Grey

7 Sep

Click to purchase Apples and Regret and Wasted Time!

Cornelia Grey

Apples and Regret and Wasted Time

Publisher: Storm Moon Press

5/5 Stars

He lives in the shadows of the law. Now, wounded and stranded in the city after a job only he could do, he has no qualms about climbing through the window his old lover left open—or stealing his shampoo, at that. He has, however, not taken into account the possibility of being surprised in the shower.

Three years is a long time to go between visits, especially if you’ve left so much anger and hurt and desire unresolved. They try to negotiate a truce for one night—over Chinese takeaway leftovers and apples, and between the sheets

Two men. No names. Just emotions.

Although his job title is never spoken aloud, it seems like the man on the run in the middle of the night is something of an assassin. Hurt, bloody, and dirty, he retreats to the only safe place he knows in this City – his former lover’s home. He knows it’s been three years since he has seen his lover, but he takes the chance anyways. Badly bruised and filthy from his adventures, he decides to take a shower. All seems well until his lover returns home and catches him in the shower. His lover is bitter, angry, yet glad to see him after three years apart. It’s going to be a long night.

Apples and Regret and Wasted Time is a wonderful short that explores old memories between two lovers who have been reunited. The emotional residue is thick, yet it is obvious that there is still a fire that burns between them. This is my first time reading Grey’s work, and I think her writing style is flawless! Although neither of these men are named, I had no problems identifying which character was talking, moving, and taking the lead in this short.

The story unfolded so effortlessly. Each scene was described in just enough detail to make me feel as if I was present in the same house, watching these men reunite. I could feel the lust between them, experience the pain as they remembered their past and what went wrong. When one man hoped for what could be, I did too. I loved how Grey showed all sides to their relationship – the awkward silences to the heartfelt confessions that comes with revealing a part of your soul. The sex is downright erotic, sensual, and passionate – everything I would expect when two lovers rekindle the torch of love, appreciation, and respect.

I won’t say how this story ends, but I will say that these men definitely had a tough choice to make when it came to whether they would follow their heart or their head. I simply loved this short. It explores life’s complications when two lovers reunite – a memory I’m sure anyone who has ever been in love has had.

3 Responses to “Apples and Regret and Wasted Time by Cornelia Grey”

  1. Megan September 8, 2011 at 5:40 PM #

    This sounds like a story about a real relationship and not some over sexual tale. Great review.

  2. Cornelia Grey December 5, 2011 at 2:43 PM #

    I just realized I never thanked you for this lovely review – I’m sorry, I’m so unorganized :)! Thank you very much. I’m really glad you liked the story – I am especially fond of these two… 🙂

    Cornelia

    • Fire Pages December 6, 2011 at 2:52 AM #

      Oh, you are quite welcome. I know all about feeling unorganized. Blogging is very much an adventure that has me flying by the seat of my pants! I’m glad you liked the review.

Leave a Reply

