Therapy Rapture by David Russell

18 Sep

David Russell

Therapy Rapture

4.5/5 Stars

I have been reviewing David Russell’s work the past couple of days, and I must say that I have saved the best for last. Therapy Rapture is one of the most eclectic short stories I have come across. It combines a short story, art, and poetry. Crazy cool, huh?

Our male protagonist has an issue separating fantasy from reality. Throw in a therapist and a fitness trainer, and we have all the hot makings of a sensual read. After reading a few of Russell’s short stories, I see that he has an eye for romance and subtle details. His character lives in the moment, and each movement is filed with emotion and meaning. This builds quite the anticipation for lovemaking. And speaking of lovemaking, David has a soft hand for these types of scenes, preferring to keep the erotic details hidden. I find it refreshing and alluring.

I also really enjoyed how Russell changed up things a little with artwork and poetry. It was an unexpected break from the usual short stories, and one I liked very much. After reviewing Russell’s work over the past couple of days, I’ve come to know his work as truly unique. His writing is very abstract, sophisticated, and sensual, and I highly recommend Therapy Rapture!

One Response to “Therapy Rapture by David Russell”

  1. David Russell March 23, 2013 at 5:51 AM #

    Wow, this book is so passionate. From the beautiful shorts, poetry, artwork, and even the cover. There’s something about it that speaks to the soul. It touches a subject that is so taboo, but manages to do it in a way that connects the readers.

    I love the flow of prose and images. The artwork ties things together in a fun way that I really enjoyed.

    Although it’s short, it’s definitely powerful. I’d recommend this book for anyone that enjoys exploring things that we commonly think about, but don’t want to admit.

    Jesse Kimmel Freeman

Leave a Reply

