Mating Call by Gale Stanley

8 Oct

Mating Call by Gale Stanley

Gale Stanley
Mating Call

5 Star Review

I was thrilled when Gale Stanley asked me to review Mating Call a few months ago. Not only did I love her first book in the Black Wolf Gorge series, Call of the Wilds, but I overall enjoy Stanley’s easy, fluid writing style. And I must say that Mating Call did not disappoint me at all! Sable, the Lycan shapeshifter who made quite an interesting appearance in Call of the Wilds, gets captured by two hunters – brothers named Jude and Jonas – who share a common hatred for wolves. But hate quickly turns to lust for these brothers and with Sable in heat, incredible threesomes unfold.

I was very happy to see how Sable redeemed herself after her antics in Call of the Wilds. She was sympathetic, softer, and more womanly in this novel. I absolutely hated Jude and Jonas, but that’s due to Stanley’s great storytelling skills. These guys treated Sable so terrible and I desperately wanted her to escape, but when I saw how these rough, tough brothers began to embrace the love they shared for her, I began to believe that the three of them could have a peaceful life together.

I absolutely recommend reading Mating Call! Despite the obstacles in Sable, Jonas, and Jude’s relationship, the sex was incredibly white hot, which was why I had to open Winter Heat Week with Mating Call. It is sexy, hot, and everything one could hope for in a menage title. While I feel it is not necessary to read Call of the Wilds to enjoy Mating Call, I recommend that you do because it is quite the romantic suspense novel. Great job Gale!

5 Questions with Gale Stanley!

1. What inspired you to write Mating Call? 

I have to say the characters inspired me. Halfway through writing Call of the Wilds, I realized that Sable needed her own story. Her role was evil she-wolf bitch, but I knew she had some redeeming qualities that needed to be explored. Flawed, conflicted characters are so much fun to write. It must come from years of reading horror, psychological thrillers and true crime, which is sometimes more far out than my paranormal stories.

2. How does writing ménage sex scenes differ from writing love scenes between two people?

Surprisingly not that much. I think it’s perfectly plausible that three people (or more) can share emotional bonding and love. The difficult part is the mechanics, figuring out which body part goes where. And before you ask – no personal research was involved!

3. What is your favorite scene in the novel?

Probably the camping scene with Sable and Jude. They start to realize they really care about each other and we see a softer side of them.

4. If you had to choose, would you rather be with Jonas or Jude?

Wow, that’s tough. They both have characteristics I like. Jude is more redneck, but he’s really the bad boy with a heart of gold. Jonas is educated but wound tighter than a clock. I think Sable had the right idea needing both of them.

5. Are you working on a new novel? If so, can you share a little bit about that with us?

I just got the edits back from Siren for Black Wolf Gorge: Book 3. Captive is the story of the twins’ sister, Janis and it’s tentatively scheduled for March 2011. My current release from Silver Publishing, Silent Knights, is a MM holiday erotic romance available at Silver Publishing. And on January 8, 2011 Silver will be releasing Point of Beginning, Book 1 of the Gentlemen’s Club. It’s a MM contemporary erotic romance. Here’s a little preview: Jack Monroe is bi-curious but after he falls for a certain curly-haired surveyor, he’s ready to admit he’s gay. Too bad Alex James is straight and has a girlfriend who keeps him on a short leash.

When Jack has a chance to act out his fantasy at The Gentlemen’s Club with an Alex lookalike, he grabs it. But is Jack setting himself up for deep disappointment or will he figure out that there is no perfect romance until you create it. Thanks so much for having me Zee. You really ask some great questions and I enjoyed my visit.

Leave a Reply

