Half Way, No Way, All the Way

20 Nov

As of this morning, I am halfway through my NaNoWriMo goal. Yes, I have hit the 25,000 word mark. Actually, it’s 25,027. Here is the good, bad and ugly since the last time I posted an update.

The Good:

  • I am still absolutely, 100% determined to meet my 50,000 word goal.
  • I am half way towards reaching my goal.
  • I have a general outline of major story events that need to happen, and have designated how much of my word count I need to write to push my story along each event.
  • This is still fun!

The Bad:

  • Because I already know what I want to happen in my story, it has been hard sitting my tush down to write out the details. Major lesson learned: Books don’t write themselves!
  • I found myself rewriting a particular scene over and over and over. Sometimes my perfectionism rears its ugly head and makes me unproductive. I have to tell myself to Stop It! out loud, which gets strange looks from my boyfriend.
  • Being an author (even for a month) is time-consuming. I’m sure you have noticed that I’ve been a blog slacker lately. Not to worry though, I’m planning some very exciting events that will take place on Fire Pages as soon as this writing whirlwind is over!

The Ugly:

  • OMG! I can’t decide what point of view I want to write in. I skip from first person, to third, then back to first. I think I have created a mess of a story that only I will understand at the end of this NaNoWriMo adventure. Authors make writing from a single point of view look very easy. Well, it is so not easy. Hats off to you wonderful authors!
One Response to “Half Way, No Way, All the Way”

  1. Lisa Alexander-Griffin November 20, 2011 at 4:44 PM #

    Zee, seems you’re chugging along just fine. 🙂 Kudos to you on reaching the halfway mark. Just get the story down. Worry about POV, repetitive words, etc, later. Good for you on having a gerneral outline. That always helps. I’ve never done nano myself, but do know what it takes to get a story done!! Now…butt in chair and write!! 😉

Leave a Reply

