Your Boyfriend & Other Guys I’ve Kissed by Totally Tyler

19 Jan

Totally Tyler

Your Boyfriend & Other Guys I’ve Kissed: The Tails of Totally Tyler

The Nazca Plains Corporation

Yes, the rumors are true… I have fallen in love with Totally Tyler. Since reading his debut novel, I’ve stalked him many times on Twitter as well as visited his incredibly funny blog. And that is exactly what this novel is – a series of blog posts. But what makes Tyler memorable is his ability to be completely open and honest about himself and his life. I truly admire that about his personality.

I’m going to share a quote from the foreword (yes, I even read the foreword) because it sets the tone for this book so well. Check this out:

“Thank you to all the boys I’ve dated. Some of you were great. Some of you had small penises. Some of you are now close friends. Some of you are in jail. But I’ve learned important life-lessons from all of you.”

All of Tyler’s tails are excellently written making this book very easy to read and enjoy. I particularly liked how this stories are multi-dimensional. He talks about his dating disasters and lessons learned, his relationship with his family (bet you didn’t know that Grandma Marge is a gangster!), his relationship with Madonna (gosh I love her too!), his feelings about religion (making love does not equate to being a murderer!), and his journey towards happiness. At the end of reading this book, I felt like Tyler and I were the best of, like I really knew him. That’s quite a special feeling to be left with.

I highly recommend that you pick up a copy of Totally Tyler’s debut book. I’m sure you will love him as much as I do. I have very much become a fan of his writing! I now leave you with two bits of Tyler’s advice.

(1) Listen to your gut instinct. Tyler says, “If I had the same taste in my instinct in men as I did my instinct in fashion, I could be dating a perfect Dior sweater as we speak.”

(2) You deserve happiness. Tyler says, “I gave too much, expected very little, and received even less. I’m worth so much more. Yes, I deserve love, but more importantly, I deserve happiness.”

Leave a Reply

