Eris by D. Renee Bagby

18 Aug

Blurb: Immortals born in the thirteenth century, Lucien Riordan and Ranulf Styr have waited centuries to be reunited with their love. Want for her cemented their friendship through time even as it tore it apart. There’s only one catch – she’s never met them before.

Eris Brue is flattered by Lucien and Ranulf’s attention but she doesn’t want to get tangled up in an office romance, especially not with two men. Their joint seduction overcomes her resolve and she gives in even though she knows they are keeping secrets.

Lucien and Ranulf have a short amount of time to make Eris love them, because once time has her, everything could come to an end.

Review: When D. Renee Bagby asked me to review Eris, I was ridiculously excited. Although I have never read her work, I do judge a book by it’s cover and this cover was definitely intriguing. However, I quickly realized that this was more than just a good cover, this is an amazing novel!

Eris is a perfectly crafted story that takes you on a journey through the friendship, desire, and romance between Eris, Lucien and Ranulf. Unlike the typical Boy + Girl = Sex model found in many erotica titles, Renee takes pride in developing rich, three-dimensional characters that continue to grow at every turn of the page. I felt like I was on an emotional roller coaster. I was surprised when every secret was revealed, angry at Lucien and Ranulf for their unthinkable betrayal, destroyed at Eris’ heartbreak, and triumphant in their love.

Despite the novels length, I thought Eris was a very easy read – a nod to Renee’s fantastic story-telling abilities. I found myself stalking the novel, devouring each page, and craving to know what happens next. I was also incredibly impressed that there wasn’t a single grammatical error in the book, which is something I’m quite critical about when reviewing novels.

Overall, Eris is a timeless romance that I would absolutely recommend to everyone! D. Renee Bagby knocked this title out of the park. I don’t do ratings, but if I had to categorize Eris, I would call it “Literary Perfection.”

Comment: What do you think of the cover? If you could travel back to any time period, where would you go? Could your heart love two men at once like Eris?

Click here to find out how to Enter the Absolute Chaos Giveaway

| D. Renee Bagby | Excerpt |

Buy Siren Bookstrand | Buy Amazon Kindle |

33 Responses to “Eris by D. Renee Bagby”

  1. Maddy August 18, 2010 at 9:53 AM #

    I think the cover is steamy and your review is even better! Looks like a scandalous read and I would love to check this out 🙂 As for the question “can you love two men at the same time”?? Umm…hello! I love my hubby and Leonardo DiCaprio…is that proof enough? ;o)

    • firepages August 18, 2010 at 10:16 AM #

      Oh that’s hilarious Maddy! I often forget to include our eye candy! Thanks for coming by!

    • D. Renee Bagby August 18, 2010 at 2:01 PM #

      That’s not the type of love I was thinking of. I was more heading towards bed-sandwich love. But, hey whatever works. 😛

      ~ Renee

      • firepages August 18, 2010 at 2:23 PM #

        Oh yes, there was some good m/f/m bed romping going on. But, I really loved how patient and caring and thoughtful the current day Lucien and Ranulf were. Their genuine love for Eris made their fiery bed sessions all the more sizzling!

  2. Anaiz August 18, 2010 at 10:49 AM #

    Lovin’ the biceps on the cover 🙂 As for the story it sounds intriguing! Might check it out, I am really in romance reading mode! Haha love Maddy’s comment on loving two men!

    • Anaiz August 18, 2010 at 10:50 AM #

      Oh and I would go to the 1880s, I just saw a spanish soap opera that took place during that era and the dresses are to die for 🙂

      • firepages August 18, 2010 at 1:57 PM #

        Interesting! The oldest Spanish movie I have seen is The Three Amigos. Okay, maybe that is not a totally Spanish movie, but I still loved the outfits. Ruffles and heaving bosoms… oh my!

      • D. Renee Bagby August 18, 2010 at 2:04 PM #

        I love the dresses too. What you do is go back to that time, grab a bunch of them, bring them back to the present and then sell them for a mint. You’d be rich. Oh and while you’re back in time, mail off a letter to be delivered in like the 1980’s so your parents invest in Yahoo or Amazon or both. 😛

        ~ Renee

      • firepages August 18, 2010 at 3:02 PM #

        That’s a fantastic idea! Fashion is timeless. I also like the idea about Yahoo and Amazon. Good stuff. I am a huge fan of Greek Mythology, so I would love to go back to that time and wear those beautiful flowing dresses.

    • firepages August 18, 2010 at 1:58 PM #

      I see you go more for the muscular type, rather than the leaner fellow. To me, both bodies look good. It would all depend on the teeth. I am a big teeth person. If your teeth are yellow,… major turn off! Lol.

  3. Erotic Horizon August 18, 2010 at 10:59 AM #

    Oh – Wonderful sum up..

    I can hear your pleasure in the review… glad you enjoyed it…

    I would love to go back to the12th century Scotland – Savage times, I think I would fit right in..

    Ravaging and rampaging – what more could a girl ask for…

    LOL

    🙂

    • firepages August 18, 2010 at 1:56 PM #

      Oh, that’s fantastic! I could totally see you leading a band of misfits through very green grassy land!

      • Erotic Horizon August 18, 2010 at 4:28 PM #

        Ohhhh, I could see myself as well leading a rag tag bunch of ne’er do well’s…

        Come on scientist – build that damn time machine already…

        ***shaking fist***

        🙂

    • D. Renee Bagby August 18, 2010 at 2:05 PM #

      So long as the Highlanders are like the ones in Jude Deveraux’s books, I think I wouldn’t mind 12th century Scotland. But what are the chances of that being true?

      ~ Renee

      • Erotic Horizon August 18, 2010 at 4:33 PM #

        Deveraux highlanders are drool worthy…. I wonder if they could do with a Lass who knows how to weild a mighty big sword…

        Scientist – I am still waiting….. build already….

        🙂

      • firepages August 18, 2010 at 8:26 PM #

        Lol. Oh yes, I think every woman needs a man who can wield a big sword! Lol.

  4. Krystal/Village August 18, 2010 at 6:09 PM #

    i think your heart can definitely love two men 🙂

    • firepages August 18, 2010 at 8:24 PM #

      I agree Krystal. I definitely agree!

  5. Armenia August 18, 2010 at 11:41 PM #

    The cover on Eris is very nice, I mean, the man candy is pretty drool worthy. And I do love a nice cover on my steamy romances.

    Very impressed with your glowing review and now so intrigued by this story. D. Renee Bagby is a new-to-me author and what a great way to be introduced to her work than with her newest release.

    When I think of time travel I always think of Scotland or Ireland with those hot Highlanders. What comes to mind, is Karen Marie Moning’s Highlander series. I can’t resist those alpha guys in kilts. And yes, I can see sharing my heart with two men, if they’re anything like MacKelter brothers. *grin*

    • firepages August 19, 2010 at 4:01 AM #

      Hey Armenia, Thank you so much for dropping in! It’s so interesting that you think of Scotland. But alpha males in kilts… that should be very interesting to see!

    • D. Renee Bagby August 19, 2010 at 12:41 PM #

      I’m partial to Maya Bank’s Colters men. They are hot and hunky. And there are three of them. 😀

      And it is funny how many time travels go back to Scotland. Guess the authors felt the Highlanders would be a little more accepting. 😛

      ~ Renee

  6. Jen D. August 19, 2010 at 12:14 PM #

    Great review Zee. I agree with some of the other commenters that your enthusiam totally pulls you in. It definitely makes me want to pick up a copy. Hmm..I think I’d like to take a trip to the roaring 20’s. Jazz, gin joints, flappers….sounds like debauchery at it’s best. And I think you could totally love two men at one time. The question is are they willing to share?

    @Mandy – LOL…loved the Leo comment.

    @Zee – The Three Amigos is up there on my top 10 list of favorite movies. It’s all about the singing bush…lol!

    @D. Renee – Or in Apple. My parents would be rolling in their piles of cash.

    @Erotic Horizons – Can I be part of your rag tag bunch of ne’er do wells?

    • D. Renee Bagby August 19, 2010 at 12:45 PM #

      Willing to share is always a good question. I would think women are more willing to share than men, as history has shown.

      I think I have another menage where that is an issue. Yup, I definitely do. Matter of fact I have two. It’ll be interesting to see how I resolve that little conflict.

      ~ Renee

      • Jen D. August 20, 2010 at 9:56 AM #

        Interesting … I would think it’d be reversed, as far as willingness to share.

        Sounds like it might be a little tricky but, I’m sure you’ll manage to find an interesting solution. *wiggles eyebrows*

      • D. Renee Bagby August 20, 2010 at 10:48 AM #

        I was thinking of harems and countries that still allow multiple wives. Heck, even in the US when a guy is dating multiple women and they all know about each other and they’re okay with it.

        As Bill Belamy said, a player isn’t a guy who has a string of women that he has to keep hidden. A player is a man whose girlfriends know about each other and their sitting around trying to figure out what to get him for his birthday. 😛

        ~ Renee

      • firepages August 20, 2010 at 12:33 PM #

        Now that Bill Belamy quote is good! It is totally true. Lots of women don’t think of themselves as being in this category, but their dating habits might surprise them!

  7. Cinquetta August 21, 2010 at 2:09 AM #

    I know I am late to enter the contest but I still want to leave a comment. I finished reading the story three ago and I enjoy the story. I love time travel and two hero. I even like Eris. She was strong and very likeable heroine. If I could go back in time in Scottland 16th century and hopefull they look like Hannah Howell Highland men. Yes I could love two men at once. I love the book cover because you know what you are getting.

  8. Ramona August 24, 2010 at 8:37 AM #

    Ok, so I haven’t bought or read Eris as yet. It’s on my list and I will get to it.. That review just bumped it upwards.
    I’ve read Renee’s prior two books ‘Adrienne’ and ‘Serenity’ and I truly enjoyed them both. This is somewhat different and I am looking forward to it. My only complaint is Renee write faster!

    • D. Renee Bagby August 24, 2010 at 1:15 PM #

      I am trying to do that. Believe me. I’m bouncing back and forth between five books right now, trying to get them all done before the year is out. I don’t know how long the submissions process will take. Hopefully it won’t take long to find each of them a home.

      Thanks for reading!

      ~ Renee

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Interview with D. Renee Bagby « Fire Pages - August 19, 2010

    […] Absolute Chaos Giveaway Eris by D. Renee Bagby […]

  2. Blog Hop! « Fire Pages - September 10, 2010

    […] Eris by D. Renee Bagby […]

  3. D. Renee Bagby - August 24, 2010 | Between Your Sheets - February 23, 2012

    […] also wants to share a great review on Fire Pages Reviews. Renee takes pride in developing rich, three-dimensional characters that continue to grow at every […]

Leave a comment