After Midnight by Sarah Grimm

28 Sep

After Midnight by Sarah Grimm

Sarah Grimm

After Midnight

Midnight Series Book 1

5 Star Review

After Midnight is one hell of a love story! I was hooked at the end of the first chapter. I had to read more. I had to know more. And Sarah Grimm definitely delivered more. Sarah have is Izzy, our protagonist who has a lot of emotional baggage about men, about her gifted talent to play the piano, and about the tragedy that struck her and her family. Izzy has become a cautious, closed off woman, who interacts with the outside world working and living at her bar in New York but is no longer emotionally connected to herself and to others. Then Sarah Grimm delivers Noah, who is also a musician for the band Black Phoenix. He is everything you can ask for – strong, sexy, confident. He is the kind of man every woman wants or dreams of.

Izzy and Noah are drawn to each other from the moment Noah enters Izzy’s bar, but Izzy refuses to give in to her attraction, even when she knows that Noah is just as attracted to her as she is to him. And even though Noah has experienced a similar musical background and tragedy himself (read to find out! :P), he is overcome the feeling and emotions that hold him back and isn’t afraid to express himself to Izzy in words and in body language.

Oh, but Sarah doesn’t stop at just creating a very real love story. She weaves a racy subplot into Izzy’s life, as she has been receiving threats against her life by someone who wants to do harm to her.

Izzy and Noah were on fire! I loved the depth of their characters, especially Izzy. Even though she is attracted to Noah, she is unable to go to him and be with him. Her emotional hangups are real and I appreciated the fact that Sarah Grimm didn’t trivialize her experiences by giving in so easily to the chemistry between her and Noah. It made the characters seem so real, reflecting the problems thatย  everyday people face. I also loved the racy subplot and death threats against Izzy. The world doesn’t stop just because a woman and man fall for one another and I liked reading how Izzy and Noah deal with not only their emotions for each other, but the reality of what is going on around them.

Excellently written, memorable characters, a romance that builds until it erupts, and a pace that will keep the pages turning until the very end, After Midnight is more than a good read – it’s a fine piece of work!

5 Responses to “After Midnight by Sarah Grimm”

  1. Sarah Grimm September 28, 2011 at 11:02 AM #

    Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I’m thrilled you enjoyed After Midnight and I truly appreciate you taking the time to review it for me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sarah Grimm September 28, 2011 at 1:56 PM #

    Thanks for reviewing After Midnight! I’m so happy you liked it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    P.S. I thought I left a comment already. If you get two, my apologies.

  3. Elizabeth Means October 1, 2011 at 12:05 PM #

    Wonderful review, adding to my TBR list!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What do you do AFTER MIDNIGHT? ~ Calisa Rhose | Pen of the Dreamer - January 26, 2013

    […] “After Midnight is one hell of a love story! I was hooked at the end of the first chapter. I had to read more. I had to know more. And Sarah Grimm definitely delivered more.” โ€”5 Stars, Fire Pages […]

  2. After Midnight ~ ON SALE NOW!! | Amie Louellen - January 30, 2013

    […] “After Midnight is one hell of a love story! I was hooked at the end of the first chapter. I had to read more. I had to know more. And Sarah Grimm definitely delivered more.” โ€”5 Stars, Fire Pages […]

Leave a comment