The Brat – Defining a New Romance

27 Sep

Sherry Gloag

The Brat

5/5 Stars

How does an author make my very exclusive auto-purchase list? By defining a new romance. An author must write a book that moves me to the core. Create a title that takes me on a journey. Changes the habits of my heart. Gives me strength. Renews my hope. Reminds me that there is more than one kind of love.

Here are 3 reasons why Sherry Gloag has made my auto-purchase list?

(1) The Brat is flawless. Sherry Gloag creates three dimensional characters who have more than one hang up, more than one fear, more than one secret, more than one desire, and weaves their complicated relationships together like Parisian Couture.

(2) Sherry is daring. She doesn’t hesitate to develop a story that touches on the darker side of life. Death. Jealousy. Hate. Fear. Pain. By fearlessly exploring these emotions, it makes the journey real, human, and reading about the rewards after experiencing a hard fought struggle is that much more pleasurable.

(3) Sherry maintains her own voice. You can tell that The Brat is first and foremost a book that happens to have romantic parts, not a book dedicated to romance. Although this is her debut novel, she has stayed true to herself and her original thoughts, and that uniqueness definitely shines through in her work.

Here are my auto-purchase list and the books that have changed me.

  • Emily Giffin – Something Borrowed, Something Blue
  • Philippa Gregory – The Other Boleyn Girl
  • Regina Hale Sutherland – The Queens of Woodlawn Avenue
  • Elizabeth Adler – Invitation to Provence
  • Sherry Gloag – The Brat

COMMENT: Name an author on your auto-purchase list.

| Sherry Gloag’s Website | Sherry Gloag’s Blog |

| BUY The Wild Rose Press | BUY Amazon |

| Watch the Trailer |

16 Responses to “The Brat – Defining a New Romance”

  1. Sherry September 28, 2010 at 5:06 AM #

    Zee, I’m overcome by today’s post. You’d told me you enjoyed The Brat, and that had me happy dancing, but this… I need an anchor to keep me grounded 🙂
    Thank you so much for your wonderful comments.
    Hugs

  2. Diane Craver September 28, 2010 at 6:51 AM #

    Great review of The Brat – what a huge compliment to be on an auto-buy list. Congrats, Sherry, on your new release. I definitely want to buy it.

  3. Sherry September 28, 2010 at 8:13 AM #

    Thanks Diane, I agree, it blew me away when I read it this morning. And I hope you enjoy The Brat as much as Zee does. 🙂

  4. Maddy September 28, 2010 at 8:44 AM #

    Congrats Sherry!! Such a glowing review on your debut novel!! And it must be great to be on someone’s auto-purchase list! I, for one, didn’t even know you can set one of those lists up! Goes to show that I need to step up my reading game 🙂

    • Sherry September 28, 2010 at 10:23 AM #

      Thanks Maddy, I am bowled over by Zee’s comments. Thanks for coming by again.

  5. Anaiz September 28, 2010 at 11:35 AM #

    Congrats Sherry! Can’t wait to check this one out. I can’t say I have any authors on my auto-purchase list quite yet, but I’m hoping to find one 😀

    • Sherry September 28, 2010 at 2:31 PM #

      Anaiz, thank you for your support, until Zee mentioned it, I hadn’t heard of auto-purchase either 🙂

  6. Keena Kincaid September 28, 2010 at 11:54 AM #

    Fabulous review. Thanks for drawing my attention to The Brat.

    • Sherry September 28, 2010 at 2:32 PM #

      Hi Keena, you can be forgiven for thinking this is the review 🙂 but that comes tomorrow! So, please do come back for that.
      Thanks for your support.

  7. Pauline Baird Jones September 28, 2010 at 1:34 PM #

    My autobuy? That would have to be Linnea Sinclair, hands down. I mark my calendar when she has a new release. I love her mix of romance science fiction/high action books. I know, with one of her novels, that I will have a great read, and a fun romance and at the end, I’ll re-read it.

    New to me, autobuy would be Jack Campbell. I read his LOST FLEET series earlier this year as part of my SFR Reading challenge and loved it, even though the romance is barely there. I’m still trying to figure out why I just loved this series and I can only conclude it is the sense of honor, the bravery, the intriguing premise. I’m SO glad I found it when the story arc was complete, though. It would have KILLED me to wait through six books. LOL!

    • Sherry September 28, 2010 at 2:34 PM #

      LOL, Pauline. I will have to look into this autobuy thingy, if my pc doesn’t go up in a puff of smoke before hand.
      Thanks for coming by.

  8. Laurean Brooks September 28, 2010 at 7:34 PM #

    Congratulations, Sherry. You go, girlfriend! What an honor!

  9. Sherry September 29, 2010 at 5:04 AM #

    Thanks, Laurean, you are right, it is a wonderful honour 🙂 I appreciate you coming by.

  10. Megan Johns September 30, 2010 at 2:37 PM #

    Great review, Sherry. What a fantastic accolade to be grouped with Philippa Gregory.

    • Sherry September 30, 2010 at 4:01 PM #

      Megan 🙂 this is not the review! Now can you understand why Zee has humbled me so much? But thanks for coming by, and I’m glad you enjoyed your holiday so mch.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Interview with Sherry Gloag « Fire Pages - September 30, 2010

    […] Brat, is absolutely fantastic! If you want to read the review or find out why Sherry has made my exclusive auto-purchase list, smack those links! Without further ado, here’s Sherry […]

Leave a comment